Forthcoming SCA events - all welcome

This page lists future concerts, composer talks, meetings and social events.


  -  HOT OFF THE PRESS - see the latest compositions by our composers!



Please email us if you'd like to be kept informed of events, composer talks, socials, meetings and concerts.

Please click on Past Events to see what's already happened already this year and in previous years!

Concert programmes now available on the website - please go to

Friday 21 Oct 2016, 7.30pm

Severnside composers performing and directing their own music
@ Bristol Music Club St. Paul’s Road, Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LP

Thomas Merton, Shakespeare, eco-poems and non-sense verse, set to music by James D’Angelo, Jolyon Laycock, Sulyen Caradon and Julian Dale, plus piano music by Steven Kings and Raymond Warren.

Concert tickets £10 (£8)
Weekend pass £15

Saturday 22 Oct 2016, 10am-4pm
"...Boulez is dead ‒ Boulez lives on…"

Celebrated French composer and musician Pierre Boulez died in January. In a series of talks and open seminars, leading West-Country composers discuss his influence on their music and on the state of con-temporary classical music today.
(Submission details to be published in due course)

Concert tickets £10 (£8)
Weekend pass £15

Saturday 22 Oct 2016, 7.30pm

Severnside composers performing and directing their own music
@ Bristol Music Club St. Paul’s Road, Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LP

Music for wind instruments, guitar and piano by Gilbert Biberian, Frank Harvey, John Pitts, Clement Jewitt, Blasio Kavuma, David Simmonds & Tim Warren.

Concert tickets £10 (£8)
Weekend pass £15

Tuesday 22 Nov 2016, 7.30pm
Concert   -  St. Cecilia’s Day Concert

Madeleine Mitchell ‒ violin
Geoffrey Poole ‒ piano

St George’s Bristol
Great George Street, (off Park Street) Bristol, BS1 5RR

…One of Britain's liveliest musical forces, the indefatigably adventurous violinist, Madeleine Mitchell. Richard Morrison, the Times

A violinist in a million,…staggering virtuosity and unparalleled musicianship. Michael Tumelty, Glasgow Herald

Last year the celebrated international violinist Madeleine Mitchell invited SCA composers to write for her. So many outstanding works were received, in such a rich and fascinating range of musical styles that she and pianist Geoffrey Poole agreed to give two programmes. Following their memorable first visit in April, they return to play Olivier Messiaen’s impressionistic Variations, as well as works by Raymond Warren and Steven Kings, and the world premiere of Jolyon Laycock’s violin sonata inspired by a painting by Salvador Dali ‒ a new programme that promises to be as inspirational as their first.

Tickets £12 (£9)

November 2016
New book   -  How to Play Indian Sitar Raags on a Piano

New book by John Pitts - available from


"This is a great book. The author conveys a real sense of how to begin improvising with raags. He does that by explaining the subject matter with enormous clarity and insight. And he brings a fantastic understanding of process to what he explains. There are a lot of books about improvisation out there. But this one's the real deal. And it's about improvising in a style that by and large isn't accessible unless you have access to a master practitioner and teacher. What else is there to say? I'd give it 11 stars if Lulu gave us that option!"
Dr Mark Polishook []

"...there is much to praise in this book. Pitts meticulously and imaginatively sets out in staff notation numerous effective and convincing musical ideas in his range of Hindustani ragas. His recommendations ... are ingenious, and work remarkably well, as evidenced in his own sample performances available through the website for this book ( ...I strongly recommend the book to pianists with an eye and an ear to the East..."
Dr Jonathan Katz, International Piano Magazine Sept/Oct 2017

"I have lived with this book for several weeks now and find it endlessly fascinating."
Allan Cronin, NewMusicBuff

"If you have any interest in this esoteric arena, in improvising from a Classical or jazz background,... I can't imagine a better primer than this."
Jonathan Woolf, MusicWeb-International

"a very well produced and informative book"
Robert Matthew-Walker, Editor, 'Musical Opinion'

"unique and fascinating book"
John Pitt, New Classics

All material copyright (c) 2005 Severnside Composers Alliance  0117 904 8902