News or Event Listing

Monday 12 November 2018, 7.30pm
Concert   -  Sounds Moving in Time and Space
Gemini Ensemble:

Sarah Leonard soprano
Ian Mitchell clarinet
Joby Burgess percussion

St. Paul’s Church, Clifton, BRISTOL BS8 1LP
Tickets £10 (£8)

“Gemini, virtuosic and thrilling as ever...” – Gramophone

It is a huge privilege for Severnside composers to have this opportunity to write for musicians of the calibre of Gemini. The ensemble has an historic association with Bristol. Formed by Peter Wiegold in 1973, it played a major role in the pioneering education work of the Arnolfini Music Workshops. It is now under the direction of Ian Mitchell, a clarinettist of the first order in the interpretation of contemporary music. He is particularly interested in developing the repertoire of the bass clarinet, emphasising its extraordinary dexterity compared with other bass instruments. Joby Burgess is one of this country’s most versatile percussionists. He is particularly known for his work with Ensemble Bash and the audio-visual collective Powerplant. Sarah Leonard is one of this country’s foremost interpreters of contemporary vocal repertoire. She is no stranger to Bristol. She gave a Severnside concert with the Bristol Ensemble in May 2014. Technically she is a coloratura soprano with a top note of high E flat. Her voice is spectacularly agile and her sense of pitch unfailing. She is capable of a huge range of histrionic vocal styles.

Severnside composers were invited to submit compositions for the challenging instrumental combination of soprano, clarinet and percussion. They responded with the richness and variety of invention that has come to typify Severnside concerts. The programme, yet to be finalised, will selected from among the following fascinating proposals:

• Sulyen Caradon “Songs from Otherwhere”
• James D’Angelo Two songs on poems by Walt Whitman
• David Greenhorne “…in the company of wolves” for clarinet, percussion and female narrator. Words by Angela Carter
• Frank Harvey Iconoclasm for soprano & vibraphone
• Jean Hasse new work for soprano, clarinet and percussion
• Jolyon Laycock “Stars Moving Westward in a Winter Garden” for coloratura soprano, clarinet and percussion. Text by Julia Copus.
• Jean-Paul Metzger “Diario” for soprano, clarinet and percussion. Text by Pier Paolo Pasolini
• Peter Nickol “This sea which pounds me”. Text by Robert Hamberger
• Jonathan Palmer “The Starlight Night” Text by Gerard Manley Hopkins (2008)
• Geoffrey Poole “On Thin Ice” For Soprano, Bass Clarinet and Percussion. Text by the composer using Inuktitut (Eskimo) vocabulary


Back to last page

Current news items

All material copyright (c) 2013 Severnside Composers Alliance  0117 904 8902