News or Event Listing

Saturday 17 June 2006, 7.30pm
Concert   -  Piano Recital

Jolyon Laycock
Bristol Music Club
76 St Paul's Rd, Clifton, Bristol, BS8 1LP

Arnold Schoenberg: Klavierstücke op.11, Suite op.25
Raymond Warren: 5 Bagatelles (1967)
James Patten: Nocturnes 1, 3 & 5 (1993 & 1998)
Jolyon Laycock: 3 Studies: L'Abri Pataud, Cap Blanc, Font de Gaume

The programme is a mixture of 20th century classics, contemporary works by a small selection of Alliance members, and poetry.

Tickets £7 (£5) from Providence Music Shop 0117 927 6536 1 St Georges Road, Bristol, BS1 5UL
or online from:

The concert is framed by two of Arnold Schoenberg's most innovative piano works: the 3 Klavierstücke op.11, the first complete work to be written without a key-signature, and the Suite for piano, op. 25, the first in which he employed the 12-note method throughout. But these are not impenetrable mathematical experiments in cacophonous sound. Opus 11 is a passionate, sometimes angst-ridden emotional roller-coaster, often seen as prophetic of the 1st World War. Opus 25 is a quirky parody of the mannerisms of a Baroque keyboard suite, like the English and French Suites of Bach seen through a cubist prism.
Raymond Warren's 5 Bagatelles are early works, written in an idiom which owes much to the influence of Schoenberg, with echoes of Michael Tippett. They give a fascinating glimpse of the genesis of Warren's later style. They are by turns dramatic, quirky, passionate, declamatory and, finally, breathlessly calm.
James Patten achieves an incredibly powerful atmosphere of calm, motionless serenity in his five Nocturnes. I will be playing a selection of three, including the very long first Nocturne, written for Kathron Sturrock, and the third which incorporates haunting, extremely quiet harmonic effects.
My own 3 Studies are selected from a larger set of piano studies to which new pieces are still being added. The first two explore resonant impressionistic sonorities. The third is dramatic and virtuosic. Their titles refer to Paleolithic sites in the Dordogne region of France, and each piece is prefaced by a poem with the same title.

Back to last page

Current news items

All material copyright (c) 2013 Severnside Composers Alliance  0117 904 8902